Is Spirulina Gluten Free?

 by Dr. Steve Hruby
Reviewed by Dr. Steve Hruby

I am a chiropractor, father, husband, coach, entrepreneur, and motivational speaker. Feeling good about yourself is a choice: My mission is to transform lives through optimized health and overall well-being.

  Fact Checked
 by Rhealyn Tropia, RMT
Reviewed by Rhealyn Tropia, RMT

I’ve been called a Data Ninja, The Fact Checker, and a Human Search Engine. I’m an indie content curator who does research daily, and quizzes myself on the important issues of the day.

is spirulina gluten free

Do you want to add spirulina to your diet but are wondering whether it’s gluten-free? This is crucial to know, especially if you have celiac or any gluten-related disease.

Spirulina is a blue-green alga that many people use as a superfood supplement to boost the immune system. 

In recent years, spirulina has become popular as an alternative medicine to lower cholesterol, blood pressure, and other health conditions. It’s essential to know whether or not spirulina is gluten-free. 

Is spirulina gluten free? Continue reading to find out. 

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein available in rye, wheat, and barley. It’s what makes bread dough elastic and chewy. You can find gluten in pasta, pizza crust, cereal, and sauces. 

Gluten can cause digestive problems for people who have celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten. Some other conditions that may affect your body’s ability to digest gluten include gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy.

If you have celiac disease, eating foods containing gluten can cause damage to your small intestine. This damage may cause symptoms like diarrhea, bloating, constipation, stomach pain, and cramping.

For people with gluten intolerance or wheat allergy symptoms from eating foods containing gluten (like bloating), staying away from these foods will help reduce or eliminate the symptoms they experience after eating them. 

Celiac Disease and Gluten

Celiac disease is an auto-immune disorder that occurs when the body’s immune system mistakenly attacks its tissues rather than foreign substances like bacteria or viruses. 

woman with stomach pain touching her belly

For celiac disease to develop, you must have had exposure to gluten in your life—for example, if you’ve eaten foods made with wheat or other grains that contain gluten. 

This can be as minor as eating a single crumb of bread or as severe as scarring from surgery or heavy metal poisoning. 

Once you develop celiac disease, it’s challenging to reverse this process and regain full health. However, there are ways you can manage symptoms so that they don’t get worse. 

What Nutrients Does Spirulina Contain?

What is Spirulina? Spirulina is a blue-green alga that looks like a cactus. It’s the only plant that contains all eight essential amino. You can eat to help build muscles and reduce fatigue.

Spirulina contains several nutrients that may help protect against cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. These nutrients comprise iodine content of spirulina, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folate, and vitamins A, B, and K. 

It also contains antioxidants like phycocyanin, a blue-green pigment that gives its distinctive blue-green hue. Phycocyanin also protects cells from damage by free radicals and carotenoids.

Spirulina Powder: How to Enjoy It

If you want to enjoy spirulina, you should have information about spirulina raw vs spirulina powder. Spirulina is bitter, savory, and sometimes has a fishy smell. Instead, consume it with your drinks, like water and milk. You can also add it to your smoothies and juices. 

Taking spirulina with fruit juices will improve the flavor of the juice while adding extra nutrients. You can use spirulina powder as a supplement when making smoothies and juices to help improve your health.

Spirulina Substitutes

There are many spirulina substitutes available for you to try if you think spirulina isn’t for you. Here are some substitutes: 

wheatgrass inside clear glass
  • Moringa
  • Chlorella
  • Beet leaves
  • Wheatgrass
  • Passionflower leaves

The list goes on, but we’ll stop here because the point is to find out what’s best for you and your body. You can’t beat spirulina, but if you’re having trouble with stomach issues or other problems, then it may not be the best choice for you.

You’ll want to talk to your doctor before taking any supplements. 

Buying Tips When Purchasing Spirulina

There are many factors you should consider when buying spirulina. Some of these include:

Quality: You want to ensure that you get a high-quality product. Look for companies that have been in business for a long time and have been around for a while so that you know they’re reputable.

Ingredients: Be sure to check out the labels on any supplements that you buy. Many companies won’t list all the ingredients on their label, but it’s always best to find all information about what you’re taking. 

Packaging: How’s your spirulina packaged? Does it come in a jar, or is it sold in bulk? Proper packaging ensures freshness and no contamination.  

Things to Consider Before Beginning a Gluten-free Diet

Starting a gluten-free diet is overwhelming. It’s essential to remember that this is a lifestyle change and not just a diet or a fad. It takes time and dedication to ensure your new lifestyle works for you. Here are some things you’ll want to consider as you embark on this journey:

  • Read labels. 
  • Get natural food. 
  • Use gluten substitutes. 
  • Get natural grains and cereals. 
  • Avoid most alcoholic beverages.  

Does Spirulina Extract Have Gluten? 

No. Spirulina is a blue-green alga that’s gluten-free. It contains proteins and B vitamins. You might experience side effects of spirulina depending on various factors.

gluten free written in flour

What Are the Benefits of Taking Spirulina?

Is spirulina great for you? Spirulina is an excellent source of protein, iron, calcium, and antioxidants. It also contains chlorophyll, which reduces inflammation and helps maintain overall health. 

Moreover, spirulina, an antioxidant, reduces acidity in the body by 95%. You can take it daily as a supplement or add it to your diet as part of a holistic approach to nutrition.

Does Chlorella Contain Gluten?

No. Chlorella contains no gluten at all. Chlorella is a natural algae plant, just like Spirulina, which is also gluten-free. 


And there you have it. You’re in the clear to consume spirulina if you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease. Spirulina is gluten-free. We have covered what gluten is and how it relates to celiac disease.

After that, we also covered the nutrients you will find in spirulina, how to consume spirulina, and its substitutes. Then we showed you buying tips and the things to consider when purchasing spirulina. Lastly, we answered some of the most frequently asked questions about spirulina and gluten. 

We have discussed everything there is to know about spirulina and gluten. Now that you know this try out certified spirulina powder to boost your health. We recommend our gluten-free and dairy-free Sunlit Spirulina Tablet.

Similar Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *